Tax robots: help the economy adapt to the use of artificial intelligence

08.10.2020 • 15.00
edited by Clusis
Contenuto Streaming in francese

Oberson Xavier image livre

The unprecedented development of artificial intelligence in all sectors of the economy is likely to cause major disruptions in the labor market and further stimulate inequalities in the sharing of wealth. In particular, many workplaces could be fundamentally transformed, or even disappear. The author suggests taxing robots as a possible response to this change and the significant losses in tax and social security revenues that could result. Based on the fundamental principles, both economic and legal, the book explores different taxation models that could be implemented, first of all, for the taxation of the use of robots, such as a tax on automation or on the "theoretical salary" and, ensuite, on the robots themselves. Various issues related to this question are thus analyzed., namely the definition of robots for tax purposes, the difficulty of attributing a contributory capacity to robots and the compatibility of such a regime with internal and international tax law.

Promoting company:

clusis_4af323f3db02cddccaa3b8f961cde778

clusis

The Clusis, Swiss Association for Information Security, is dedicated to all aspects of cybersecurity. Nonprofit organization, it was founded in 1989. Originally, the founders of Clusis are aware that companies must be made aware of the risks to which they are now exposed. Information processing technologies are booming and businesses have jumped on the bandwagon, without always being able to protect their sensitive data. Actors in the economy also need a competent interlocutor to answer their questions, Clusis was born.

Become a recognized center of expertise in all areas of information systems security, the Clusis explores new information paths, takes risks and comes back to its members with new solutions. With this experience, Clusis allows its members - today professional cybersecurity players - to consolidate, refresh their knowledge through practical experience and stimulate debate with experienced interlocutors.

The risks and threats have evolved since the creation of the association and the businesses around the security of information systems have become more complex. Today, the Clusis is a real platform for exchanges between more than 400 experts : senior professors from the academic world, competent security professionals or SMEs involved in these issues. Thanks to a flagship annual event, the Strategic Day, targeted and cutting-edge conferences, formations, the Clusis shares its updated knowledge with interested companies and experts. The success of these exchanges testifies to the quality of the speakers and their mutual contributions.

Speakers:

Oberson_Xavier photo

Xavier Oberson

Professor at the University of Geneva, lawyer, Doctor of Law, ITP/LL.M. (Harvard Law School)

Xavier Oberson est professeur de droit fiscal suisse et international à la Faculté de droit de l’Université de Genève. He also practices as a lawyer, au sein de l’Etude Oberson Abels SA à Genève.
He has published numerous books and articles in the field of Swiss and international tax law., in particular : Tax robots. Help the economy adapt to the use of artificial intelligence (Brussels, Larcier, 2020), International Exchange of Informations in Tax Matters. Towards Global Transparency, 2nd edition (London, Elgar Publishing, 2018).
Le Professeur Oberson participe étroitement à diverses associations, expert committees or foundations, active in the field of tax law.

Taxer les robots: aider l’économie à s’adapter à l’usage de l’intelligence artificielle 

08.10.2020 • 15.00
a cura di Clusis
Contenuto Streaming in francese

Oberson Xavier image livre

Le développement sans précédent de l’intelligence artificielle dans tous les secteurs de l’économie est de nature à provoquer d’importantes disruptions dans le marché du travail et stimuler encore les inégalités dans le partage des richesses. En particulier, de nombreuses places de travail pourraient se transformer fondamentalement, voire disparaitre. L’auteur suggère une taxation des robots comme une réponse possible à ce changement et aux importantes pertes de recettes fiscales et de sécurité sociale qui pourraient en résulter. En se fondant sur les principes fondamentaux, tant économiques que juridiques, l’ouvrage explore différents modèles d’imposition qui pourraient être mis en œuvre, tout d’abord, pour la taxation de l’utilisation des robots, telle qu’une taxe sur l’automatisation ou sur le « salaire théorique » et, ensuite, sur les robots eux-mêmes. Différentes problématiques liées à cette question sont ainsi analysées, à savoir la définition des robots à des fins fiscales, la difficulté d’attribuer une capacité contributive aux robots et la compatibilité d’un tel régime avec le droit fiscal interne et international.

Azienda promotrice:

clusis_4af323f3db02cddccaa3b8f961cde778

Clusis

Le Clusis, Association suisse de la sécurité de l’information, est dédié à tous les aspects de la cybersécurité. Association sans but lucratif, il a été fondé en 1989. A l’origine, les fondateurs du Clusis sont conscients que les entreprises doivent être sensibilisées aux risques auxquels elles sont désormais exposées. Les technologies de traitement de l’information connaissent un essor prodigieux et les entreprises ont pris le train en marche, sans être toujours en mesure de protéger leurs données sensibles. Les acteurs de l’économie ont par ailleurs besoin d’un interlocuteur compétent pour répondre à leurs questions le Clusis est né.

Devenu un pôle de compétences reconnu dans tous les domaines de la sécurité des systèmes d’information, le Clusis explore les nouveaux chemins de l’information, prend des risques et revient vers ses membres avec de nouvelles solutions. Fort de cette expérience, le Clusis permet à ses membres – aujourd’hui acteurs professionnels de la cybersécurité – de consolider, rafraîchir leurs connaissances par l’expérience pratique et susciter le débat avec des interlocuteurs chevronnés.

Les risques et menaces ont évolué depuis la création de l’association et les métiers autour de la sécurité des systèmes d’information se sont complexifiés. Aujourd’hui, le Clusis est une véritable plateforme d’échanges entre plus de 400 experts : professeurs chevronnés du monde académique, professionnels compétents de la sécurité ou des PME impliquées dans ces problématiques. Grâce à un événement annuel phare, la Journée Stratégique, des conférences ciblées et pointues, des formations, le Clusis partage son savoir actualisé avec les entreprises et experts intéressés. Le succès de ces échanges témoigne de la qualité des intervenants et de leurs apports mutuels

Relatori:

Oberson_Xavier photo

Xavier Oberson

Professeur à l’Université de Genève, avocat, Docteur en droit, ITP/LL.M. (Harvard Law School)

Xavier Oberson est professeur de droit fiscal suisse et international à la Faculté de droit de l’Université de Genève. Il exerce également en tant qu’avocat, au sein de l’Etude Oberson Abels SA à Genève.
 
Il a publié de nombreux ouvrages et articles dans le domaine du droit fiscal suisse et international, en particulier : Taxer les robots. Aider l’économie à s’adapter à l’usage de l’intelligence artificielle (Bruxelles, Larcier, 2020), International Exchange of Informations in Tax Matters. Towards Global Transparency, 2nd edition (Londres, Elgar Publishing, 2018).
 
Le Professeur Oberson participe étroitement à diverses associations, commissions d’experts ou fondations, actives dans le domaine du droit fiscal.